To York or Not to York: NYC Marathon

If anyone asks me “Dave, why don’t you run a marathon?” my answer is that I’m too young. I promised I wouldn’t do one ‘til I’m the wrong side of 30. Marathons are for people who’ve reached a point in their lives, where they think, I need a big challenge, what will I do? Ok, that’s what I thought up until last week, when the thought of running 26.2 miles wouldn’t leave my head.

I’ve been offered a place in the New York Marathon this November. The Big One in the Big Apple. Over 40,000 people chasing their way through the 5 boroughs of NYC. How cool would that be?

I’m trying to weight it up in my mind and here’s where I’ve got…

My reasons not to run a marathon

  1. I’m too young, that’s for “old” people – there are guys and girls in their 80s still running marathons.
  2. I hear it’s more addictive than crack cocaine, so will end up doing 50 of them by the time I’m 50.
  3. It’s a gateway drug – you’re only step away from an ultra-marathon like the Marathon des Sables across the Sahara Desert.
  4. It could be an expensive hobby, if I set the bar at NYC and want the biggest and best.
  5. I like having ankles, knees and hips that work and are mine. And aren’t made from plastic.
  6. I prefer running faster, not longer – give me a sub 40 min 10km any day.
  7. Lastly, I’ve no Kenyan or Ethiopian blood, so unlikely to ever win one.

 

Reasons to run a marathon

Sonia O'Sullivan

  1. I’d be following in the footsteps of some of Ireland’s greatest athletes – Eamonn Coghlan, Sonia O’Sullivan and John Treacy.
  2. My brother John would probably have a laugh at the idea of a goalkeeper turning into a runner. Of course, he’d say he’d still beat me.
  3. There are so many good names I could put on my t-shirt which would get the Yanks shouting support: “Go Horse Power”; “Dapower in D’apple”; “Daithí ag rith troid an Úla Mór”.
  4. There’s a piece of me that knows I can break the 3 hour mark. Someday.
  5. It’s all about fundraising for our national children’s hospital in Crumlin.

 

So what do you think?? What would you do?

Or should I just get over this fitness fad and start watching more Family Guy, playing snooker or darts, and building up a collection of exotic beers from all over the world. But I suppose I could do all that anyway after the race. Plus, surely the beer tastes WAY better after a jog from Tramore to Dungarvan.

NYC Marathon Route

2 responses to “To York or Not to York: NYC Marathon

  1. Pingback: New York City Marathon 2011: Quitting hurts longer! « David Power Blog- Silence is the Question·

Leave a Reply

