2014 Season Review

This year was my best yet. Show me the medals you may shout? Oh I have a few of them but for we what made 2014 great was being able to explore so many places, achieve personal goals and do things I’ve never done before. Staying free from injury is a big goal, and it’s been over 2 years since I’ve been out of action.

The Stats

I exercised in total 448 times this year, racking up nearly 500 hours and covering nearly 8,000 kilometres. I ran 5 days a week and completed 28 races, winning 3. I set PR’s in 5 km (16:34) and 10 km (34:56) and performed in the top 10 of several adventure races, as well as finishing 57th in Triathlon Ireland National Series. My longest cycle was 164km (Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford), my longest run was 28 km Llagostrail) and my longest swim (3.5km Limerick Easter Training Camp).

Activities #   Hours     Distance km
Cycling 121 Cycling 222 Cycling 5142
Running 243 Running 211 Running 2659
Swimming 84 Swimming 63 Swimming 145
Grand Total 448   Grand Total 496   Grand Total 7946

10151951_854428607914184_1849907280106155021_n_thumb.jpg

The Results

The biggest results that gave me a real kick were:

  • Dingle Adventure Race, 9th
  • Killarney Adventure Race, 5th
  • World Duathlon Championships, 25th
  • Llagostrail, 4th
  • Triathlon National Series, 5 races, 57th

I also won 3 races, which was a great motivation:

  • Blackstairs Adventure Race
  • Dingle 10 km
  • Carson City Turkey Trot 8 km

WP_20140530_043_thumb.jpg

The Highlights

Beyond the race results above, we had so many great weekends away. It made the competing all the more memorable and enjoyable. Our annual pilgrimages to the Kingdom (Dingle & Killarney) to the most scenic and well organized races you’ll find anywhere. The craic was mighty for both weekends. Triathlon takes us to beautiful parts of Ireland, usually smaller towns which are off the tourist trial. Belmullet was unforgettable; Kinsale was like the Med; Dunmore East is always special. Racing against the best always motivates me, so training and racing cross country always tests you and makes you humble. Mountain biking in Lake Tahoe and Gran Canaria was also special.

15233142025_41f6394a2d_o_thumb.jpg

The Lowlights

Hard to pick lowlight, as I wasn’t injured or didn’t fail to finish any race. My swimming has improved slightly, but it’s still a weakness that holds me back from competing at the front. I would have liked to do a big sea swim, across Tramore Bay would be cool. l shirked the challenge of improving my cycling. I took the easy option of running when at times I should have gone cycling with the club. That said, I can improve my runtimes more: l need to get to 33 min for 10 km before I can think of getting to sub 2:30h in the marathon.

Kilian Jornet – skyrunner

The Next Plan

So much I could do, so little time.. . . every time I hear of a new challenge, or of people doing unbelievable things, I get inspired. Look at Kilian Jornet, Fionnuala Britton, Sonia O’Sullivan, Aileen Reid, Rory McIlroy, John O’Shea. These people achieve so much, by making so many sacrifices, having big goals and huge determination to be the best at what they do.

So looking to 2015, I’d like to push myself to go into zones never been in, as out of my comfort zone is the only place that you learn. Swimming 25 min requires that I get coached and swim 3 times a week. Cycling 40km a hour requires spending time in the saddle and cycling every weekend. Running 33 min means l must focus on hard intervals and consistency of long runs.

As for races: 5 Triathlon National series, more adventure races, European Duathlon Championships, plus another big race abroad. I’d like to run on the track more – 3,000m and 5,000m. Swim across Tramore Bay would be epic. Plus some team races, like mixed relays, cycling sportives and athletics road relays are fun.

Leave a Reply

