My 2016 Season Review

I’ve raced 28 times so far in 2016, more than 2 races a month. I’ve really enjoyed training & racing. Being part of two great clubs in Belpark Triathlon Club & Rathfarnham WSAF AC has really helped, as has training with a bunch of mates. Here’s my thoughts on the year that was…

Best races:

Worst races:

  • Mondello Duathlon – getting lapped on the track plus the miserable freezing cold/wet weather
  • TriCarlow – poor transitions

Memories:

  • Mondello – novelty of cycling laps of a race track in a draft legal race
  • Lake Tahoe Marathon – a surprise win in a beautiful setting
  • Dingle – racing Mount Brandon and cycle the next day
  • Battles through the summer with Barry and Ben
  • Sandycove Island swim after Kinsale triathlon
  • Running in Luna Sandals at Bray Aquathon
  • Winter cycle in the snow with Mossy and Conor
  • Early morning cycles around Glencree with the Wednesday lads
  • Organising 3 great duathlon races in the Phoenix Park

What I learnt

  • I love racing, especially against people I know
  • Coaching myself works for my schedule and goals, but not ideal for improving hugely
  • My bike transition is rubbish – I need to practice
  • Varying intensity in the pool is key
  • Training alone doesn’t push you as much
  • My goals were broad: compete in lots of events across loads of sports
  • I improved my swimming speed and bike strength
  • My run times on the road are on a par with last year
  • I stayed free from injury and trained 6-7 days week consistently
  • Fuelling your body does not mean gels & carbs – you can become fat adapted
  • I realised the importance of rest, recovery, mentally switching off, having other interests, eating well, fuelling your body.

Leave a Reply

