Achilles Injury: The Positives

I can’t remember who Achilles was but he’s got a tendon named after him. So, I’m assuming he knows how I feel, with a bit of Achilles Tendinopathy.

It’s a mouthful but a month into physio, rehab and no running I know a bit more.

Being told I can’t run and need to rest is hard. I normally run 250km per month – this month I’ve ran 25km over 3 triathlons in Cobh, Wicklow & Lanesborough. Running is part of my daily routine – it’s a physical release but also a mental therapy to clear my mind out in the fresh air. It’s also a form of transport for me to/from work.

The physio team at Premier Physio in Ballinteer have been excellent. No magic pill or quick massage – it’s down to rest to reduce inflammation and stability exercises to try build strength. They are boring and hard to motive myself to do, even though I know they’ll do me good and hasten my recovery. I’ve also gotten some benefit from massage on tight calves. Reflexology also gives me a great release.

The positive spin is that I can get out on my bike more. It’s been great, I’ve cycled nearly every day last week. Commuting daily, plus club/hill repeats up Ticknock, a lovely spin around Wicklow with Mossy and a few evening spins after work around Stepaside. It’s funny, I’m cycling on the 10k loop I normally run on.

I’ve enjoyed the cycling – it’s growing on me. I feel stronger – the Belpark hill repeats on Tuesday were a great confidence booster.

It’s all building up to 2 biggies in August – Tour de Kilkenny and Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford, both at 160km. then I’ve the 3-day Tour of Leinster charity cycle for Laura Lynn with Microsoft work team – 400km over 3 days.

I’ve also got to swim a bit – my goal is the Dun Laoghaire Harbour swim on 13th August. To get there I need 6 Leinster Open Water Swims – so that’s taken me to lovely swim in Wicklow, Portmarnock, Bull Wall, Killiney and Seapoint. I really enjoy the handicapped racing and mix of all ages.

Leave a Reply

